Weymouth success for Sailing Team

Peter O’Leary and David Burrows have won gold at the Skandia Sail for Gold Regatta in Weymouth, the host venue for the 2012 Olympics.

The pair were third overall heading in to today’s medal race and a third place finish in the double points race saw them jump ahead of a Brazilian boat and one from Britain to claim top spot.

ISA performance director James O’Callaghan said: “It was a fantastic race under pressure from Peter and David. It was nerve racking to watch but both boys were elated as they crossed the line to claim gold.”

Earlier  Annalise Murphy won bronze in the Laser Radial class, winning the final medal race which brought her from fifth to third overall. Murphy had repeated her performance from the 2011 Sail for Gold Regatta where she also won the bronze.

 “This is a fantastic result from Annalise. She was perfectly focused during the medal race and she delivered the goods,” added O’Callaghan.

Ryan Seaton and Matt McGovern finished seventh in the 49er class. The duo had a good medal race in which they finished fifth to move up from 10th spot.




© 2021 Olympic Federation of Ireland.
Registered in Dublin No. 82262.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram