Karate will make its debut appearance at the Summer Olympics in 2020 in Tokyo, Japan and will feature two types of events, Kumite and Kata.

Sixty competitors from around the world will compete in the Kumite competition and twenty will compete in the Kata competition. Both divisions of the competition will be split 50/50 between men and women.

In Kumite or combat, the winner of the three-minute fights is the athlete (karateka) who obtains a clear lead of eight points, or the karetaka who has the highest number of points at time-up. If the fight is a draw, then the winner is determined by the first unopposed point advantage (Senshu) or in the case of a scoreless result, by a majority decision of the judges (Hantei). Points are scored according to correctly-executed techniques of controlled punches, strikes and kicks.

In Kata, karetaka execute a set of pre-approved choreographed movements, with the winner being declared by a pool of judges using an electronic voting system. Karateka are evaluated according to technical and athletic performances.

National Federation: Official National Amateur Karate Association of Ireland

International Federation: World Karate Federation


Karate Olympic Qualifier Team Announcement

O.N.A.K.A.I. , the National Governing Body for Karate in Ireland, is excited and proud to announce the squad selected for the Olympic Qualifying Tournament. This, in itself historic, event and the first of its kind as the sport of Karate debuts on the Olympic stage will be held in Paris from the 11th to 13th […]

European Games 2023 – List of Sports Agreed

EOC, Krakow-Małopolska agree on preliminary list of sports for European Games The European Olympic Committees (EOC) this weekend welcomed a delegation from Poland to the CONI headquarters in Rome for discussions on the 3rd edition of the European Games (EG), which are scheduled to take place in Krakow-Małopolska in summer 2023. The meeting was led […]

BRONZE for Chris McCarthy in U21 +84 Kumite European Karate Championships

It’s another win for Chris McCarthy who brings a Bronze in the U21 +84 Kumite from the 47th Cadet, Junior and U21 European Karate Championship in Budapest! Chris took on Jan Brezocnik from Slovenia in round 1 with ease winning 6:0. He wins the 2nd round 1:0 against Aliaksei Hureyeu of Belarus, moving to the […]

World Karate Championship Santiago

Irish Junior and U21s squad in Santiago 2019   The 11th World Karate Championship was held on the 23rd-27th October 2019 in Santiago, Chile. Ireland was represented by a squad of seven young athletes: 2 kata competitors and 5 kumite competitors. A larger squad was selected but some athletes were unable to finance the trip. Due […]

Scroll to Top