Good Governance is one of the five strategic pillars of the Olympic Federation of Ireland. Since the new Executive Committee was appointed for the Tokyo Olympic cycle, a lot of work has been done on policy drafting and implementation of 23 policy documents, as well as constitutional amendments to bring about important governance reforms such as term limits, the structure of the Executive Committee, the establishment of standing committees to provide oversight and direction, and most recently, a 40% minimum gender balance on the Executive Committee.

Much of the work during 2019, was to put the final actions in place to ensure compliance with the Code of Good Governance, having already taken steps in 2017 and 2018 to bring our constitution into line with the 25 recommendations of the Deloitte report and the IOC’s Governance requirements based on the Olympic Charter. The Olympic Federation of Ireland is now fully compliant with the Governance Code for the Community, Voluntary and Charitable Sector in Ireland.

Committee Members

Audit and Risk

Gearoid Costello (Chair – Independent)
Robert Downes (Independent)
Rob Johnson
PJ Nolan

Human Resources and Remuneration

Sarah Keane (Chair)
Sarah O’Shea
Colm Barrington
Denis Toomey


Sarah O’Shea (Chair)
Darren O’Neill
Robert Norwood
Georgina Drumm
Robert Johnson

Athletes' Commission

Shane O’Connor (Chair)
Gavin Noble (Deputy Chair)
David Gillick
David Harte
Kenneth Egan
Melanie Nocher
Judy Reynolds

© 2021 Olympic Federation of Ireland.
Registered in Dublin No. 82262.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram