Rugby union (15s rugby) was a men's medal sport at the 1900 Games in Paris, the 1908 Games in London, the 1920 Games in Antwerp and the 1924 Games in Paris following which it was removed from the Olympic programme.

Rugby 7s was introduced to the Summer Olympic programme at the 2016 Games in Rio with both a men’s and women’s competition. Rugby 7s is a fast paced game with each match comprising two seven minute halves. The entire competition usually takes place over two days.

The competition comprises 12 men’s and 12 women’s teams. The competition format involves pool play followed by a knockout round. There are three pools of four teams each. At the end of pool play, the eight best teams qualify for the quarterfinals. The winner of the final earns the gold medal and the final runner-up earns silver. The two losing semi-finalists play a third-place playoff to determine who earns the bronze medal.

National Federation: Irish Rugby Football Union

International Federation: World Rugby





© 2021 Olympic Federation of Ireland.
Registered in Dublin No. 82262.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram